Updates

Whoa!! My eyes tell me it’s been six months since I last posted, but I can barely believe them. I’ve been silent here, but I haven’t been idle. The rover branched off from the urban agriculture beat to pursue some other projects – it was winter, anyway, and there was exploring to be done. So, what have I been up to?

Writings

In March, I had my debut post published on the Huffington Post blog. It was about Keystone XL, a proposed pipeline to carry dirty crude oil from the tar sands fields of Alberta, Canada, to the Gulf of Mexico. President Obama is expected to make a decision on whether to approve this project, which prominent climate scientist James Hansen has called “game over for the climate,” later this year.  Read my full take on the issue here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/joel-wolfram/keystone-xl-pipeline-_b_2909468.html?utm_hp_ref=green

Last month, I tried my hand at music writing for my neighborhood blog, Bushwick Daily. Twin Sister, one of my favorite bands making music today, played a set at underground Bushwick venue Silent Barn, and I was there to report on the show. I also got a chance to talk to their lead singer and came away with some inside, and, as far as I can tell, as-yet-unreported, information on their plans to release new music this year. http://bushwickdaily.com/2013/05/twin-sister-live-in-bushwick-dish-details-on-new-album/#more-17975

Other News

In February, I spent two weeks in the Princeton, NJ, area to train on a project my firm is doing for Bristol-Myers Squibb, the pharmaceuticals company. This isn’t really relevant to anything I’m doing with this blog, but I wanted to share what was absolutely the highlight of the trip for me (other than the extravagant business-travel meal budget). Apparently, it’s not uncommon to see wild turkeys holding up traffic in the driveway into Bristol-Myers Squibb’s Plainsboro office park. I saw it happen twice while I was there (see photographic evidence). Maybe BMS should consider getting into farming too?

At the first hint of forward progress, this turkey would turn around and attack the car's front tire

Each time the car inched forward, the turkey would turn around and attack its front tire.

Speaking of getting into farming, this spring I began an urban agriculture project of my own! I’m now a member of the Eldert Street Garden, a community garden in Bushwick, and I have my own little garden plot there. It’s my first time gardening, and fortunately I’m getting plenty of help from the other gardeners. Right now I’m growing royal burgundy bush beans, two kinds of lettuces, swiss chard, and kale. Here’s what my plot looked like a couple weeks ago. Check back here soon for more in-depth accounts of my gardening experiences.

My garden plot in late May: sprouts are coming up!

My garden plot in late May: sprouts are coming up!

Leave a Reply

